倡導

教育倡導:

CCPTA 認真對待 PTA 的使命,即倡導每個孩子的福祉。 在縣一級,我們通過多種方式做到這一點:

  • CCPTA 成員制定、投票並支持我們向 APS 領導層和學校董事會提出的建議。
  • CCPTA 執行委員會通過信函和立場聲明將問題、疑慮和想法傳達給 APS 領導層和學校董事會。 這些被明確標記為來自執行委員會,而不是 CCPTA 的全部成員。
  • 我們提供有關正在審查的學校董事會政策的評論。 在 2020-21 年,我們提供了與隔離和約束相關的政策的反饋; 輔導危機管理; 欺凌預防; 和更多。
  • 我們在每月的會員大會上與學監和學校董事會成員進行接觸,提出 CCPTA 成員提前提交的問題,然後與官員進行跟進,以確保問題得到解答。
  • 我們舉辦了專門的論壇,CCPTA 成員可以在這裡討論共同關心的問題。 在 2020-21 年,我們舉辦了一個關於正在考慮中的 2020 年 2021 月有限基本邊界變化的論壇; 22 年 2021 月的另一個關於 APS FYXNUMX 預算的論壇; XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月的三分之一關於學生心理健康問題。 這些特殊論壇的主題可以由 CCPTA 成員提出建議。
  • 我們尋找可以圍繞共同關注的問題與其他社區團體合作和倡導的方式。
  • 作為會員大會的一部分,我們促進信息共享和對特定主題的討論——例如,在 2020-21 年,我們主辦了 SEPTA/ASEAC/APS 來討論殘疾學生的包容性和青年和家庭倡導中心的討論關於恢復性司法。

文檔:

Advocacy

Education Advocacy:

CCPTA takes seriously the PTA’s mission to advocate for the well-being of every child. At the county level, we do this in a number of ways:

  • The CCPTA membership develops, votes on, and advocates for recommendations we make to APS leadership and the School Board.
  • The CCPTA executive board communicates questions, concerns and ideas to APS leadership and the School Board via letters and position statements. These are clearly labelled as coming from the executive board and not the full CCPTA membership.
  • We provide comments about School Board policies that are under review. In 2020-21 we provided feedback on policies related to seclusion and restraint; counseling crisis management; bullying prevention; and more.
  • We engage the Superintendent and School Board members at our monthly general membership meetings, raising questions that CCPTA members have submitted in advance and then following up with officials to make sure questions are answered.
  • We host special forums where CCPTA members can discuss issues of common concern. In 2020-21, we hosted a forum about the December 2020 limited elementary boundary changes that were under consideration; another forum in January 2021 about the APS FY22 budget; and a third in May 2021 about student mental health issues. Topics for these special forums can be suggested by CCPTA members.
  • We look for ways we can collaborate and advocate with other community groups around issues of shared concern.
  • We facilitate information-sharing and discussion of particular topics as part of our general membership meetings–for example, in 2020-21 we hosted SEPTA/ASEAC/APS to talk about inclusion for students with disabilities and the Center for Youth and Family Advocacy to talk about restorative justice.

Documentation: